African American Golfers Hall of Fame
West Palm Beach, Florida

   “African American Golfer’s Hall of Fame - Legends”


“Inaugural 2005 Members”

Gordon Brown, Sr., San Diego, CA; Pete Brown, Dayton, OH; Arthur L. Davis, Sr., West Palm Beach, FL;
Renee Fluker, Detroit, Mich.; Selina Johnson, Detroit, Mich.;
Malachi Knowles, Riviera Beach, FL and William “Bill” Powell*, East Canton, OH.

 Posthumously inducted: Althea Gibson; Dr. George F. Grant, Herman Mitchell,
Teddy “Rags” Rhodes and John Shippen.

“Inaugural 2005 Humanitarian Awardees”

Gary Player, Johannesburg, South Africa; Richard F. Sebastian, Foxwood, CT;
Dr. Julius Taylor, Baltimore, MD

“2006 Members”

James Lacey “Jim” Dent, Tampa, FL; *Dr. William “Bill” Dickey, Phoenix, AZ; Alton Duhon, Los Angeles, CA;
James Garvin, Jr., Washington, DC; LaJean W. Gould, Atlanta, GA; Calvin Peete, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL;
*Julius Richardson, Chicago, Ill; Peggy Rhodes-White, Chicago, Ill and William “Bill” Wright, Los Angeles, CA Posthumously inducted: Ann Gregory.

“2006 Humanitarian Awardees”

Dr. Thomas A. Hart, Sr., Washington, DC; Reese A. Jarrett, San Diego, CA & Calvin Goode, Phoenix, Arizona.

“2007 Members”

Agatha M. Delancy, Nassau, Bahamas; Lee Elder, San Diego, CA; Charles Owens, Tampa, FL;
Renee Powell, East Canton, OH. Posthumously inducted: Joseph M. Bartholomew
& John Roux, New Orleans, LA

“2007 Humanitarian Awardees”

Jack W. & Barbara B. Nicklaus, North Palm Beach, FL
William “Bill” Shack, Las Vegas, NV
Helen B. Wilkes, Palm Beach, FL

“Inaugural 2007 Pioneer of the Year”

 Posthumously inducted: F. Malcolm Cunningham, Sr., Esquire, Riviera Beach, FL.

“Inaugural 2007 Publisher of the Year”

Calvin H. Sinnette, M.D., Arlington, VA

“Inaugural 2007 Golf Administrator of the Year”

Dennis C. Morgan, Suwanee, GA.

“Inaugural 2007 Legacy Awardees”

Lavelle “Reds” Anderson, Washington, DC; Thomas M. Irving & David I. Stroman, Jr., Washington, DC.

“Inaugural 2007 Founders Awardees”

  Robert “Bob” Brock, Albuquerque, New Mexico; Dr. George H. Grace, Miami, FL,
   Dwayne M. Murray & Christopher Hill, Metropolitan Kappa Youth Foundation, Inc. 
Youth Golf Initiative: Langston Golf Course, Washington, DC.


 “2008 Members”

James W. Black, Charlotte, NC; George G. G. Johnson, Louisville, KY;
Eddie Payton, Jackson, Mississippi; Jimmy Lee “Jim” Thorpe, Heathrow, FL

“2008 Humanitarian Awardees”

Dari & Billy Bowman, Tequesta, FL 

 “2008 Pioneers”

Hercules O. Pitts, Upper Marlboro, MD; Earl G. Graves, Sr., New York, NY

“2008 Publisher of the Year”

  Pete McDaniel, FL, Conyers, GA

“2008 Golf Administrator of the Year”

Avis L. Brown-Riley, Chula Vista, CA

“2008 Mother – Daughter Golfers of the Year”

Linda Lett & Dara Broadus, Atlanta, GA  

“2008 Father – Son Golfers of the Year”

Bobby Brown, Shreveport, Louisiana – Aric Brown, Chicago, IL

“2008 Founders Awardees”

  Florida Governor Charlie Crist, Tallahassee, FL; Helen Cluett, Palm Beach, FL

“2008 Legacy Awardee”

Posthumously inducted:Hercules L. “Pops” Joyner*, Dallas, Texas

This list shall not be reproduced for publication unless authorized in writing by
the Founder of the African American Golfers Hall Of Fame, Inc.

Past Celebrations
Legends 2005-2008
Legends 2009-2012
Legends 2013-2016
Legends 2017-2020
Legends 2021-2022
Members News
In Memory of
About the Hall of Fame
AAGHOF Historic Facts
Upcoming Event
AA Collegiate &Youth HOF
2017-18 Hall of Famers
2016 Hall of Famers
2015 Hall of Famers
2014 Hall of Famers
2013 Hall of Famers
2012 Hall of Famers
2011 Hall of Famers
2010 Hall of Famers
2009 Hall of Famers
2008 Hall of Famers
2007 Hall of Famers
2007 Awards
2006 Hall of Famers
2006 Humanitarians
2006 Photo Gallery
2005 AAGHOF Archives
2005 Photo Gallery
Reading Room